Serious recurring depression

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Serious recurring depression

Post by Dave4575 on Fri Jan 01, 2016 3:53 pm

Hi I am after some advice in relation to the above topic.I am on my third and most serious bout of depression which I have been told will now probably be a life long issue
My doctor also suspects PTSD which I believe to be lob related.I am about to instigate the ill health retirement process and I am due to see a psychiatrist next week at my own cost to advise on the permanence to f my disability. I have 25 years service but have no experience of this process at all so any advice on hat to expect and what awaits me would be greatly received
Thanks

Dave4575

Back to top Go down

Re: Serious recurring depression

Post by Adversity on Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:06 pm

Hello, firstly well done for addressing your health issues, and I hope you get some medical help, PTSD is an evil ailment. There are several different medications, and it will take time to find the right one, so try and stay focused, because the right tablets will help, even if only enough to get you through the day. I would say I would not wish PTSD on my worse enemy, but having said that, I do wish it on several members of the finance and personnel team.

I have to, in all honestly, pre-prepare you for the job to cause your illness to get much worse unfortunately, if you ask for ill health/injury retirement. They will try their best to use your compromised mental health to wear you down further, and if you haven't already, at times you will really think you have lost the will to live.